The Journey has Just Begun

After some… I don’t know. I don’t quite remember when I started but…

Well, after quite some time of reading, I’ve finally finished The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring.

I know, it took too long. And, yes, this is my first time going through the series. I’ve never really had the motivation to read them because they’ve always been so thick and, hence, intimidating.

Well, for some reason, I got started and now I’ve finished it. Although, not really. The way the book ended, with a:

Then shouldering their burdens, they set off, seeking a path that would bring them over the grey hills of the Emyn Muil, and down into the Land of Shadow.

And a:

Here ends the first part of the history of the War of the Ring.

The second part is called THE TWO TOWERS, since the events recounted in it are dominated by ORTHANC, the citadel of Saruman, and the fortress of MINAS MORGUL that guards the secret entrance to Mordor; it tells of the deeds and perils of all the members of the now sundered fellowship, until the coming of the Great Darkness.

The third part tells of the last defence against the Shadow, and the end of the mission of the Ring-bearer in THE RETURN OF THE KING.

Kinda wants to make me continue reading the series immediately. It is that much of a cliffhanger it doesn’t exactly feel like an entire volume has ended. More like a chapter.

I’ll, of course, continue reading then go read The Hobbit. Eventually. I can’t continue reading immediately though as I promised myself to read a classic after this one.

Yeah, I know, I mentioned “thick” yet I’ve finished all seven books of Harry Potter. They became thicker over the years. Although, I do believe that Order of the Phoenix is the thickest volume.

In any case, for now, I think I’ll go and try and finish Don Quixote. To be honest, I started reading this one last year. I should finish it already.

The language, of course, would not make it any easier for me.

Leave a Reply

